Spinoso Masters Scholarship recipients named

SYCAMORE – The DeKalb County Community Foundation recently named the 2019 Spinoso Masters Scholarship recipients. Five individuals received a total of $30,000 to use toward master’s level education. The award recipients are Luke Hoppenworth, Bridget Ivanic, Drew Paszotta, Kelsey Peifer and Ryan Schultz.

To receive a Spinoso Masters Scholarship, individuals must be past graduates of a high school located in DeKalb County and enrolled in a post-undergraduate institution working toward a master’s or higher degree in any field of study.

Luke Hoppenworth is a DeKalb High School graduate and is pursuing a master’s in structural engineering from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Bridget Ivanic is a Sycamore High School graduate pursuing a master’s in speech-language pathology from Northern Illinois University. Drew Paszotta is a DHS graduate pursuing a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. Kelsey Peifer is a DHS graduate pursuing a Doctor of Nursing Practice degree at University of Illinois at Chicago. Ryan Schultz is a DHS graduate pursuing a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree at University of Florida.

Donors John and Vivian Spinoso are long-time residents of DeKalb County with a strong desire to support continuing education. In its eighth year as a scholarship award at the Community Foundation, the Spinoso Masters Scholarship has awarded a total of $240,000 to local graduates.

For information about scholarships available at the Community Foundation, contact Marc Hooks at 815-748-5383 or

Loading more