KC Nursing holds Honor Society induction

The Kishwaukee College Nursing Program held an induction ceremony for the Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society on May 16 on campus. Thirteen second-year nursing students were inducted as new members of ADN.

ADN is the official honor society of the National Organization for Associate Degree Nursing. To be eligible for admission to ADN, nursing students must maintain a minimum 87 percent average in all nursing courses and complete a leadership project. 

The induction ceremony at Kishwaukee College included opening remarks by Pat Mitchell, nursing faculty. Representing the new inductees was student speaker and ADN President Melissa Turner.  Guest speaker for the ceremony was Bette Chilton, dean of Health and Education and director of nursing at Kishwaukee College. 

The inductees chose to receive their ADN pins from each other to signify their interconnectedness as they complete their educational journey as nursing students. Pat Mitchell also presented each student with honor cords which they wore to signify their ADN membership during commencement ceremonies held at Kish College on May 17.

The 13 nursing students inducted into the Kishwaukee College chapter of Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society are: Jessica Castro, Malta; Alex Dolister, Lee; Kim Feczko, Sycamore; Rebecca Giroux, Steward; Fred Hornbuckle, Cortland; Patricia Kasmar, Rochelle; Kathryn Lewis, Sycamore; Stephanie Losey, DeKalb; Carla Mercado, Genoa; Angela Midnight-Oest, Waterman; Diana Sandoval, DeKalb; Amy Taylor, DeKalb; and Melissa Turner, Sycamore.

For more information on the Nursing Program at Kishwaukee College, call the Nursing Department at 815-825-2086, ext. 2510.

Loading more