Huskies celebrated in ESPY-style awards show

DeKALB - Northern Illinois Athletics’ fifth annual awards banquet, “The Victors,” is set for 8 p.m. Monday, April 28, at the historic Egyptian Theatre in downtown DeKalb. Huskie fans are invited to join in celebrating the accomplishments of NIU student-athletes at the red-carpet event; tickets are $20 and are available by calling 815-753-1923 or visiting Tickets will also be available at the door starting at 6:45 p.m.

An all-sports, ESPY-style awards show, “The Victors” will feature live performances, musical numbers and awards presentations by NIU student-athletes and staff. A total of 26 awards will be handed out, including male and female athlete of the year, newcomer of the year and coach of the year, along with Mr. and Ms. Victor E. Huskie, an award given to student-athletes who represent a commitment to developing as a champion in the classroom, in competition and in life. Results for the 2013 spring, 2013 fall and 2013-14 winter sports were considered in the nominations. 

NIU coaches nominated student-athletes for the awards. Finalists are selected by members of the Huskie Athletics Student Services Committee. Winners for the awards will be selected by a vote from each team and each office within the athletic department. Fans can participate in selecting the play of the year award by voting at

Finalists for Newcomer of the Year (Male) are Aaric Armstead, men’s basketball; Simon Formont, men’s tennis; Tommy Hook, baseball; Shaun’Qae McMurtry, wrestling; and Jamaal Payton, football.

Finalists for Newcomer of the Year (Female) are Alex Elias, women’s soccer; Ally Lehman, women’s basketball; Megan Gilliam, gymnastics; Mary Grace Kelly, volleyball; and Jenna Radtke, volleyball.

Finalists for Team of the Year (Male) are baseball, men’s basketball, football and men’s tennis.  

Finalists for Team of the Year (Female) are gymnastics, softball and volleyball.     

Finalists for Athlete of the Year (Male) are Axel Lagerlof, men’s tennis; Jordan Lynch, football; Alex Klonowski, baseball; and Jordan Threloff, men’s basketball.

Finalists for Athlete of the Year (Female) are Sarah Angelos, volleyball; Amanda Corral, women’s basketball; Kim Gotlund, gymnastics; Mackenzie Roddy, volleyball; Amanda Sheppard, softball and Nelle Youel, women’s tennis.

Finalists for Coach of the Year (Male) are Rod Carey, football; Patrick Fisher, men’s tennis; Ed Mathey, baseball; and Mark Montgomery, men’s basketball.

Finalists for Coach of the Year (Female) Ray Gooden, volleyball; Sam Morreale, gymnastics; and Christina Sutcliffe, softball.

Finalists for Unsung Hero are Jamie Burr, cross country; Peyton Gunnison, women’s golf; Shane Rosenberry, wrestling; and Jenna Thorp, women’s basketball.

Finalists for Mr. Victor E. Huskie are Eli Anderson, Dusty Page, Jared Torrence, and Jared Volk. Finalists for Ms. Victor E. Huskie are Kim Gotlund, Courtney Ksiazek, Shelby Miller, and Justine Schepler.

Loading more