Committee on youth elects new officers

DeKALB – After two years as the secretary of the DeKalb Township Committee on Youth, Erica Wade was elected by the committee to serve as the committee chair for the fiscal year beginning April 1. Wade, M.S., L.C.P.C., is a licensed professional counselor and outreach coordinator for the Counseling and Student Development Center at Northern Illinois University.

Matt Wittrup, a faculty member in the School of Nursing and Health Studies at NIU, was elected the committee’s vice chair, and Josh Waddle, the membership manager of the DeKalb Chamber of Commerce, was elected secretary.

At the committee’s March meeting, township supervisor Eric Johnson presented Tim Vincent, the outgoing chair, with a resolution thanking him for his service as the first chair of the committee on youth and naming March 31, 2014 “Tim Vincent Day” in DeKalb Township.

“Tim was instrumental in getting the committee moving in the right direction in its early days, and it would not have been successful without him,” Johnson said.

The DeKalb Township Committee on Youth awards grants to organizations providing services and programs that prevent juvenile delinquency within the township. Applications are accepted on a rolling deadline and can be found at under the “Town Board” tab. Past grant recipients include Big Brothers Big Sisters, Adventure Works of DeKalb County, Ben Gordon Center, the Regional Office of Education, programs through DeKalb School District 428, and DeKalb County Community Gardens.

Loading more