44°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Fatty’s named DeKalb business of the year

Published: Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014 11:28 a.m. CDT
(Monica Maschak -
Owner of Fatty's Pub and Grille Jeff Dobie (center) poses with Mayor John Rey and last year's recipients after winning the 2013 Business of the Year award during the annual DeKalb Chamber of Commerce dinner held at Faranda's Banquet & Conference Center on Thursday, January 23, 2014.

DeKALB – Jeff Dobie was watching the clock at the DeKalb County Chamber of Commerce’s annual meeting Jan. 23.

But his concern over getting home quickly dissipated when he learned his business, Fatty’s Pub and Grille, was named DeKalb’s business of the year.

“This is unbelievable, actually,” Dobie said as he stepped onto the podium at Faranda’s Banquet and Conference Center. “I’m pretty speechless.”

Dobie opened Fatty’s, 1312 W. Lincoln Highway, in 1998.

“From its start as a college bar to a destination in the community, Fatty’s has grown to be the No. 1 eatery in DeKalb, and it employs over 50 people,” outgoing chamber board Chairman Mark Smirz said before the award was announced.

In addition to growing his business, Dobie was recognized for the charitable work he and his employees do in the community, including Huskies for Hope, a fundraiser that has raised more than $30,000 for special education in DeKalb and Sycamore schools.

Dobie was stunned when incoming DeKalb Chamber Board Chairman Steve Braser made the announcement, but was able to compose himself enough to thank his family and his restaurant staff.

“It’s cool to work with people who actually want to be at work,” Dobie said. “If you can walk out your door and not have to worry about what happens when you leave, that’s quite a find. That’s quite special.”

Fatty’s was one of seven business up for the Business of the Year, which annually honors a DeKalb business that has contributed to the community.

The dinner also honored DeKalb’s top business leaders, including five Business Leaders Hall of Fame inductees: Michael Embrey, Carme Gregory, Michael Larson, Tom Smith and Bob Brown Sr.

Brown, who died in 1999, also received the chamber’s Pioneer Award for his work with WLBK-AM radio.

Chamber Ambassador Tonda Bruch was named Ambassador of the Year.

More News