72°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Hospital auxiliary awards scholarships

Published: Tuesday, July 16, 2013 12:00 p.m. CDT

DeKALB – Nicholas Sablich, a 2013 graduate of DeKalb High School, has been awarded the Virginia Larsen Nursing Scholarship for 2013, a total award of $3,300. Sablich plans to study nursing at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Larsen, a charter member of the Kishwaukee Hospital Auxiliary, established a nursing scholarship endowment fund through the DeKalb County Community Foundation. The Kishwaukee Hospital Auxiliary Healthcare Scholarship committee selects the outstanding nursing major from all applicants for the health care scholarship, and awards that person the Larsen scholarship. The first scholarship was awarded in 2006.

The auxiliary awarded 22 other scholarships for 2013-2014 totaling $20,000. The other recipients were Alexandra Bantz, Jessica Castro, Kimberly Kay Feczko, Azucena Fraire, Mayumi Garcia, Eran Gwillim, Erica Huerta, Leigha Johnson, Kathryn Lewis, Jessica Lovejoy, Rachel McBride, Molly Meier, Jennifer Milroy, Angela Moore, Rachel Petersen, Anna Pruteanu, Ariel Russell, Laina Kay Scheri, Kristin Strupp, Jessica Sullivan and Laura Zantout.

More News