Early voting under way

SYCAMORE – The early voting period officially began March 25 and continues until noon Saturday, April 6. Voters can cast an early ballot at any one of four locations in DeKalb County.

Hours for all four polling places are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, Wednesday and Friday; from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday; from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Thursday; and from 9 a.m. to noon Saturday.

Ballots can be cast at the Gathertorium of the DeKalb County Legislative Center, 200 N. Main St. in Sycamore; at the Blackhawk Annex of the Holmes Student Center in DeKalb; at the Sandwich Fire Protection District, 310 E. Railroad St. in Sandwich; and at the Kirkland Village Hall, 511 W. Main St. in Kirkland.

Early voting requires a valid form of identification. Sycamore and Northern Illinois University locations are county-wide polling places. Grace voting can also be done at these locations; people who are not registered to vote can register and cast a ballot at the same time.

There is parking available for voters in the NIU visitor lot. Let the parking attendant know you are there to cast your ballot.

The Sandwich polling place is only for voters in Sandwich precincts 01, 02, 03, 04 and 05; Somonauk precincts 01 and 02; Paw Paw precinct 01; Squaw Grove precincts 01and 02; Clinton precincts 01 and 02; Victor precinct 01; and Shabbona precinct 01.

The Kirkland polling place is only for voters in Franklin precincts 01 and 02; Kingston precincts 01, 02 and 03; Genoa precincts 01, 02, 03, 04 and 05; Squaw Grove precinct 01; and Mayfield precinct 01.

After early voting ends, voters can still cast a ballot at the county elections office, 110 E. Sycamore St. in Sycamore, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, April 8.


Loading more