Economics educators honored

DeKALB – At an award luncheon on Oct. 23, Dave Meyer, a teacher at Sycamore Middle School, was recognized as a Star in the Classroom for his work in providing a real-life learning environment for his students.

Meyer was one of 10 Star in the Classroom teachers from throughout the state who have promoted economics in the classroom and provided an effective opportunity for students to become more engaged in their education. Through The Stock Market Game, Meyer has provided a fun learning experience and implemented a program that has proven to increase test scores. Through the competitive component of the game, Meyer’s students have used their learning to help them pull ahead in the competition and win.

Meyer was presented with a certificate and cash award at the annual Economic Education Day Awards luncheon hosted by Econ Illinois and sponsored by 3M. Award-winning teachers also networked and attended a pre- and post-lunch workshop.

Committed to recognizing excellence in teaching, 3M has sponsored the teacher awards and luncheon for the past 14 years. The teacher workshop was added to the event three years ago as a way for the winning teachers to learn about other free resources and to provide an opportunity for the teachers to network with each other.

“We are grateful for 3M’s ongoing support of the event and workshop which allows us to continue to recognize these outstanding teachers from throughout the state,” said Lori Berkes-Nelson, executive director of Econ Illinois. “It is our honor to award teachers each year for their excellence in providing a solid economic education for students.”

Econ Illinois also presented Dr. Anne Kaplan with the Richard S. Peterson award. Kaplan has been part of Northern Illinois University’s administrative team for more than 35 years and has been an active participant in planning and delivering educational programs and services across northern Illinois. She has been a member of the Econ Illinois Board of Trustees for 10 years and has championed the work of both Econ Illinois and the NIU Center for Economic Education. The Peterson award recognizes one volunteer for outstanding commitment to the mission of Econ Illinois through extraordinary leadership and service.

Loading more