College honors local faculty, staff

DeKALB – The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Northern Illinois University honored 11 alumni, faculty, and staff on Oct. 12 for distinguished service. Of these individuals, five are DeKalb-area residents.

Richard Johannesen, professor emeritus, communication

Former chair of the Communication Department, Johannesen is the author of one of the top communication ethics textbooks in the country and is credited with bringing NIU’s Department of Communication into national prominence, based in part on its reputation for researching and teaching communication ethics.

Wallace McAllister, presidential research professor emeritus, psychology

One of the inaugural class of Presidential Research Professors at NIU, McAllister built the first animal colony in the department, which remains a centerpiece of the department. He maintained funding from the National Science Foundation for his entire tenure at NIU and led his department in rigorous scholarship and research, contributing to its continuing reputation for excellence.

Clark Neher, distinguished teaching professor emeritus, political science

An internationally recognized scholar in Southeast Asian politics with particular expertise in Thailand, Neher served as chair of the Department of Political Science, as well as director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies. He has received two Fulbright Fellowships and has published scores of journal articles, book chapters, and books.

Robert Self, professor emeritus, English

A former director of graduate studies and director of first year composition, Self coordinated the complete integration of computer-assisted instruction into the department’s writing courses, making NIU a national leader in merging technology with teaching. A Senior Fulbright Scholar, Self is the author of three books and 20 scholarly articles, and is a nationally recognized authority on the filmmaking career of director Robert Altman.

June Kubasiak, office manager, public administration

Kubasiak is being honored for her 33 years of dedicated service to the university and for being a leader in developing and strengthening relationships between the Division of Public Administration and its alumni and current students.

Loading more